Give Me Faith

TOPIC: Trusting that the God who reigns today is the same God who reigned in the Bible.

LOCALE: Starbucks on Gervais

ON THE MENU: Iced coffee

TODAY’S ALBUM: Les Miserables

It’s been a hot minute since I’ve posted anything on here, but it seems I finally have something to blog about. (I’ve discovered that I rarely post anything when I’m in a state of blissful ataraxia, but rather in times of moderate distress).

Fear not, kind friends, this is not a time of moderate distress. Quite the contrary, I am very well.

That being said, this semester has been spiritually challenging in the best of ways. Our small group has been working through Spirit of the Disciplines by Dallas Willard, a rich and theologically deep book in its own right, and coupled with our group’s total devotion to honesty and spiritual growth, the study has been incredibly edifying.

Last week, we got on a tangent regarding the 21st century church’s lack of faith. (A fact we decided — aided by Willard’s pointed thoughts on the subject — is more symptomatic of a lack of direction than a lack of passion). In talking about our weeks, several of us mentioned a stroke of good luck, or a coincidental and pleasant meeting with an old friend.

Despite our best efforts to trust God throughout this semester, we still attributed these opportunities to chance rather than an omnipotent Savior.

It seems that while most Christians have no qualms with the stories of healings, miracles, and brilliant displays of the Holy Spirit’s power that litter the New Testament, even the strongest Christians struggle to believe these things are possible now. Even small displays, like believing Christ could give someone divine energy on just a few hours of sleep, come difficult to us.

It’s pretty obvious why we struggle with this, as Jesus himself tells Thomas in John 20; “Jesus said to him, ‘Because you have seen Me, have you believed? Blessed are they who did not see, and yet believed.'” (John 20:29, ESV).

The early Christians saw Jesus, and many of the disciples, performing countless miracles, and thus, it was easy to believe the Holy Spirit could do those things in their lives. Over time, we’ve lost faith, and thus lost the miracles that can supplement that faith.

The solution, I believe though, is equally as obvious. If I wish to learn calculus, I can only get so far by reading Newton or Leibniz’s notes on the subject. At some point, I must practice calculus. Similarly, I can only slightly improve my vocabulary by reading a dictionary. I must begin to utilize the words I read, or they will never make their way into my everyday life.

I believe faith works the same way. I can read about the countless miracles found int he Gospels and the book of Acts. I can also take a more eastern approach, and study the lives and habits of faithful Christians throughout history However, to fully learn believe the words of Christ that I can do greater things than even him, I must practice faith.

If Jesus’ words are to ever have an effect on my life, I must actively seek to follow them. It would be silly to believe that I could become a great musician by simply believing in myself, without doing anything. I can’t improve my ping-pong game by simply brushing up on the theory. I must practice. Yet when it comes to faith, we sit idly, with the audacity to act as if it is Christ that has failed us.

Hebrews 11 is a perfect example of this. The entire chapter is dedicated to examples of great men and women acting upon their faith, yet we reduce it to an argument about faith and works, missing the chapter’s whole premise.

I guess that’d what I’ve been learning recently. Faith is just as much a practice as a mindset. The more I practice faith, the more faith I will have. So let’s all work together to practice faith, and challenge one another to live more difficult lives.

As the great Australian philosophers Matt Crocker and Joel Houston once quipped, “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, Let me walk upon the waters, Wherever You would call me, Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, And my faith will be made stronger, In the presence of my Savior.”

Leave a comment